The Fast 4th March 2015

8184645260_771418744e_o
Spiritual Search – By June Perkins

It’s early days in the fast, but I have just  had a set back and found out I am not allowed to do the fluid part.  I will have to drink water due to my psoriasis still being an issue even though it is vastly improved.

It’s in remission and so much better but it still lurks and so this is the advice I have been given by my health professional. She does think fasts can be very good for the body and if done correctly are a great idea – so I am allowed to do the food part.

To compensate for not being able to fully participate in the fast I’ve given myself an extra challenge which is to try and fast from my social media – and not facebook during the day light hours of the fast.

However that was challenged a little this morning as I was chatting with both my mother and a close friend from childhood this morning and thought it would be rude to just suddenly end our conversations.

It’s been a  special time, trying to focus more spiritually and not let the busyness of life take the soul out of things I do is important at the moment.  So I keep reflecting on why I am doing something. Do I need to do it now?  Could I do it later? Where is it leading me?

What should my priorities in life be?

This week I have been giving special effort to supporting other people who have dedicated themselves to the power of story, poetry and health and am preparing a series of blogs that that are interviews. I’ve submitted some articles to other sites, and entered two picture book competitions with work that I have polished and polished. I’ve also read a huge stack of writing by other people (and still have a book I need to read).

I’ve been polishing a poetry film and working on a format that reflects who I am as an artist.

Another thing I’ve been making a big effort with, has been trying to visit those bloggers that really inspire me with what they do.  I try and check in on the ones that have had the most impact on me and leave a thoughtful message.

I was delighted to be added to the Nineteen Months Photography team, and am now once a month sending a photograph in for that site with a quotation.  You can check out my first contribution by Clicking Here.  Mine is right down the bottom of some profound and touching photographs. How I long to travel!

This weekend I am off to writing group – how I love to see them all.  One day I’ll have to write about it.  We’re reading and writing some very exciting stories and following each other’s work like serials.  They’re all so different, but that’s all I can tell you because one day some of them are going to be published, in my opinion.

Keep well and if you too are fasting all the best in your journey.

(c) June Perkins

Published by June

Writer, photographer, lover of unity in diversity in thought and humanity - poet by nature, world citizen with Pasifika Diasporic outlook

4 thoughts on “The Fast 4th March 2015

Would love to know what you think. The emails left on comments are not passed onto any third party for use for marketing or data.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.